Wähle: Deutsche Sprache

Square Pianos

The square piano was one of the most popular keyboard instruments in the late 18th and early 19th century. A deep passion of Eric Feller for square pianos was one of the main reasons to create a rare collection of square pianos which is worldwide unique. Here you will find a fine selection of particularly interesting instruments. Further instruments will be added regularly to complete the research on square piano history.


Instruments


Johannes Zumpe for Longman and Lukey & Co. 1769

This little square piano from the beginning of the company Longman & Broderip is one of the rarest instruments - it is the only instrument signed by Zumpe so far and thus represents the only proof that Johannes Zumpe had also worked for Longman. The case is made of mahogan...

more

Longman, Lukey and Co. 1769 – 1773

This is the second oldest instrument from the early years of Longman & Broderip in the Eric Feller Collection. The case is made of mahogany and framed with ribbon inlays. Left of the keyboard are three hand stops for divided dampers and lute. There is also a pedal/knee lever...

more

Johann Christian Schreiber 1745 (1770)

This very interesting square piano is so far the only known instrument made by Johannes Christian Schreiber. The rectangular shaped mahogany case is decorated with boxwood inlays. The instrument has a single action and is double strung. The keyboard is made of ivory and ebo...

more

Thomas Haxby 1774

This early square piano by Thomas Haxby was built in York in 1774 and belonged for many years to the Colt Collection in England. Haxby was considered an outstanding spinet and piano maker. The case of the instrument is made of mahogany with inlays in different woods. The instr...

more

Georgius Pether c. 1775

This square piano is a typical example of the 1770s instruments in England. The delicate instrument convinces with simple elegance and a charming sound. The instrument rests on the original stand (trestle-stand). Both are made of mahogany with encircling inlays in different wo...

more

Ferdinand Weber c. 1775

This square piano is one of the rare surviving instruments with a “Venetian Swell”. The case and the original stand are made of solid mahogany and framed with ribbon inlays. The stand has a small shelf ("music shelf") and is decorated with oval brass fittings. The lid is...

more

Jacobus Ball c. 1775/80

This instrument is probably the earliest surviving square piano by Jacobus Ball. The case of this small instrument is made of mahogany with inlays in different woods. The instrument itself rests on a trestle stand made in cherry wood (not original). The keyboard is made in ivo...

more

Longman and Broderip 1776 – 1782

One of the most important piano companies besides J. Broadwood in the late 18th century was Longman & Broderip. They acted as instrument dealers with instruments crafted by suppliers and as music publishers. One of these examples is this early square piano. The case and th...

more

Johannes Pohlman 1767 (1780)

Johannes Pohlmann (later anglicised to "Pohlman") is one of the so-called "12 Apostles" of piano making in the late 18th century in England. These were instrument makers who left the continent after the Seven Years War in Germany to immigrate to England. For more information abou...

more

Christopher Ganer 1780

The case of this little charming instrument is made of solid mahogany and richly decorated with inlaid ribbons. The original stand is decorated on the sides with bronze applications. The keyboard is made ivory and ebony. Inside the piano are three stops for bass dampers, trebl...

more

Jacobus Ball c. 1780

The case of the instrument is made of solid mahogany and richly decorated with various inlays and inlaid decorative ribbons. The original stand with 6 legs is also made of mahogany and decorated with flowers, ornaments and garlands. The keyboard is made in ivory and ebony. Ins...

more

Jacobus et Abraham Kirckman 1783

This instrument by the company of Kirckman from 1783 represents an early example of the production of pianos in the changing time from harpsichord to piano. Kirckman which was renowned in the 18th century for making harpsichords expanded in the mid-1770s to offer also the newly c...

more

Christian Müller 1784

This unusual Swiss square piano was made in 1784 by Christian Müller in Bern. It shows some unusual characteristics and is probably the prototype for Muzio Clementi's (1752 – 1832) patent for the "Bridge of Reverberation", which was introduced about 25 years later in London. ...

more

Joseph Hauert c. 1785

This rare square piano by the famous Swiss instrument maker family Hauert was built around 1785 by Joseph Hauert in Bern. The elegant instrument and the original legs with floral carvings are made of walnut. On the front of the lid are an inlaid oval which is made in a darker...

more

Christopher Ganer c. 1785

Christopher Ganer was one of the "12 Apostles" mentioned in the literature who emigrated to England in the mid-1760s. This square piano shows the continuous development of the instruments towards the end of the 18th century. In comparison to the square piano from 1780 (click here...

more

Schoene & Co. 1788

The case and the original stand are made in mahogany with inlays in different woods. The stand has got a cross brace on the floor with pedals and is decorated with oval brass fittings.The instrument has a second action and is double strung. The keys are made of ivory and ebony. T...

more

Johann Christoph Jeckel and Christian Jeckel 1789

This early South German instrument from 1789 comes from the workshop of Johann Christoph and Christian Jeckel in Worms and is absolutely similar to the instrument from 1790 in the Metropolitan Museum in New York. The case of the instrument is made in various fruit woods (mainl...

more

Shoehs 1790

This early French square pianoforte is made by an instrument maker who we do know nothing. So far, no other instrument has been found, so it is probably the only surviving instrument. The case and legs are made of mahogany and framed with simple inlays. The instrument has a si...

more

Johannes Broadwood 1790

A very early example of John Broadwood's exquisite square pianos can be seen here. The case of the instrument is made of mahogany with encircling inlays in different woods. The instrument rests on the original trestle stand which has been made in mahogany too. Inside is the...

more

John Crang Hancock c. 1790

This rare pianoforte from the period around 1785 - 1790 represents an absolute peculiarity: it is so far the only preserved instrument with a newly invented action by Hancock in a square piano. The case is made of mahogany with inlays of boxwood and ebony. The instruments rest...

more

Schoene & Co. 1792

The case and the original stand are made in mahogany with inlays in different woods. The stand has got a cross brace on the floor with pedals and is decorated with oval brass fittings. The instrument has a second action and is double strung. The keys are made of ivory and ebony....

more

Thomas Bates & Co. 1793

This square piano by Thomas Bates is an example of Bates' long traditional style of piano making until the 1790s. While other piano makers at this time tried to develop the piano with an extended compass or "modern" designs Bates continued in the tradition of the 1770s and 1780s....

more

Schoene & Vinsen 1799

This is currently the youngest of 3 square pianos made by Schoene in the Eric Feller Early Keyboard Collection. All three instruments feature identically designed nameboards and signatures. Also action, dampers and swell are the same. These charming instruments are all well ma...

more

John Broadwood and Son 1799

This square piano was made by John Broadwood and Son in 1799. It is totally similar to the one build one year later in the Eric Feller Collection. The case of the instrument is made of mahogany with revolving band inlays in different woods. The instrument itself rests on a "fr...

more

Érard Frères et Co. 1800

This simple square piano was made by Érard Freres et Co. in Paris in 1800. The case with its original legs is made in mahogany with simple brass inlays. The nameboard is signed with: "Érard Frères et Co. Rue du Mail No. 37 à Paris 1800." The original keyboard with a co...

more

John Broadwood and Son 1800

The instruments of John Broadwood were in the late 18th and early 19th centuries much sought after. As a result a large number of instruments were produced. The case of the instrument is made of mahogany with revolving band inlays in different woods. The instrument itself rest...

more

Lambertij 1801

This charming and absolutely elegant square piano was made in Paris in 1801 and is the only known instrument of this maker. It has a fine and sustainable sound. The case is decorated with inlays and is (as well as the legs) made of mahogany. Unusual is that the legs are made a...

more

Muzio Clementi 1803

This square piano from 1803 was made in the important workshop of composer, publisher and instrument maker Muzio Clementi. In addition to Broadwood, the instruments of Clementi were highly appreciated and distinguished by their special sound. Contemporaries have dubbed them the b...

more

William Rolfe 1803

This square piano comes from the workshop of William Rolfe and shows an instrument of classical elegance, as it was favoured by the English upper class in the late 18th to the early 19th century. Special features of these instruments are the richly decorated nameboards with flowe...

more

Clementi & Co. 1804

Instruments by Muzio Clementi were highly valued at the beginning of the 19th century and had a very high reputation. Among the preserved instruments there are almost instruments with a compass of 5 ½ octaves and double-action. This special square piano is unique because it is b...

more

Érard Frères 1805

This very rare and elegant square piano was made by Érard Frères in Paris in 1804/1805. The case with its original legs is made in mahogany with inlays and original ormolu decorations around the case and legs. The nameboard is signed with: "Érard Frères Rue du Mail No....

more

John Broadwood and Son 1807

The company of John Broadwood was one of the most prolific piano manufacturers in England in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. Due to the partly industrial production large quantities have been achieved. However, the quantity did not affect the quality of the instruments an...

more

Érard Frères 1811 owned by Jean-Jérôme Imbault

  This extraordinary square piano is an important historic instrument in music history, as it comes from the possession of the violinist and well-known publisher Jean-Jérôme Imbault. The instrument by Érard Frères was made in 1811 in Paris. The case and origina...

more

Meincke & Pieter Meyer 1811 – 1818

Meincke & Pieter Meyer belonged to one of the best piano manufactories in the Netherlands at the end of the 18th and the beginning of the 19th century. This square piano is one of the most elegant models and is totally different from the early typical English style instrument...

more

John Broadwood and Sons 1814

This elegant "Regency-Style" square piano from 1814 is a typical early 19th century instrument found in very wealthy households. The case of the instrument is made of mahogany and rosewood with revolving band inlays in brass. The instrument stands on 6 original turned legs wit...

more

Joseph Grus c. 1820

This square piano is a typical representative of the French Empire instruments from the beginning of the 19th century. The instrument was built around 1820 and impresses with its clear elegance and its fine sound. The case is made of mahogany and decorated with bronze applicat...

more

Érard Frères 1822

This elegant little Empire piano by Érard Frères was made in Paris in 1822. The case of the instrument and the original legs are made of mahogany, decorated with inlays and elaborate bronzes. The nameboard is signed with: "Èrard Frères Facteurs de Forte-piano et Harpes du R...

more

Jean-Henri Pape 1824

Jean-Henri Pape was one of the most innovative piano makers of his time at the beginning of the 19th century. A large number of patents to improve playing and sound were made by him. This elegant Empire piano was made in Paris in 1824. The case and original columnar legs are made...

more

Charles Louis Howard c. 1825

This square piano was build by the famous Swiss instrument maker family Hauert and was made around 1825 in Bern. The case of the instrument and the original legs are made of mahogany. On the front at the lock is a fine bronze application. On the nameboard in a ceramic cartridge r...

more

Léonard Systermans 1829

This small Empire square piano was made in Paris in 1829 by Léonard Systermans. The instrument convinced with its simple elegance and fine sound. The case and columnar legs are made of mahogany. The nameboard is slightly rounded and bears the inscription: "Leonard Systerman...

more

Wilhelm Braschoss c. 1830

This elegant Swiss square piano from Geneva shows the French and English influence on instrument making in Switzerland. The instrument was built around 1830 and has a very overtone-rich sound.  The case and legs are made of mahogany. The typical fluted legs are reminiscent of...

more

Chose English language

Tafelklaviere

Das Tafelklavier zählte zu den am meisten verbreiteten Tasteninstrumenten im späten 18. und frühen 19. Jahrhunderts. Die tiefe Leidenschaft Eric Fellers für Tafelklaviere war einer der Auslöser, eine Sammlung von Tafelklavieren zu schaffen, die weltweit einzigartig ist. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt bei frühen englischen Instrumenten des späten 18. Jahrhunderts. Hier finden Sie eine Auswahl von besonders interessanten Instrumenten. Weitere Instrumente werden regelmäßig hinzugefügt, um die Forschung hinsichtlich der Baugeschichte des Tafelklaviers zu vervollständigen.


Instrumente


Johannes Zumpe für Longman and Lukey & Co. 1769

Dieses Tafelklavier aus der Anfangszeit der Firma Longman & Broderip ist eines der seltensten Instrumente – es ist das bisher einzige Instrument, welches von Zumpe signiert ist und stellt somit den bisher einzigen Beweis, dass Johannes Zumpe auch für Longman gearbeitet hat...

Mehr Informationen

Longman, Lukey and Co. 1769 – 1773

Dieses ist das zweite Exemplar in der Eric Feller Collection, welches aus der Anfangszeit der Firma Longman & Broderip stammt. Der Korpus ist aus Mahagoni und mit Bandintarsien umrahmt. Links neben der Klaviatur sind drei Handregisterzüge für eine geteilte Dämpfungsaufh...

Mehr Informationen

Johann Christian Schreiber 1745 (1770)

Dieses interessante Tafelklavier ist das bisher einzige bekannte Instrument von Johannes Christian Schreiber. Der Korpus ist aus Mahagoni und mit einfachen Bandintarsien umrahmt. Das Instrument verfügt über eine single action und ist durchgehend zweichörig besaitet. Die...

Mehr Informationen

Thomas Haxby 1774

Dieses frühe Tafelklavier von Thomas Haxby wurde in York 1774 gebaut und gehörte lange Jahre zum Bestand der Colt Collection in England. Haxby galt als ein herausragender Spinett- und Klavierbauer. Der Korpus des Instrumentes ist aus Mahagoni mit umlaufenden Einlegearbeiten in...

Mehr Informationen

Georgius Pether ca. 1775

Dieses Tafelklavier ist ein typisches Beispiel der Instrumente aus den 1770er Jahren in England. Das zierliche Instrument besticht durch schlichte Eleganz. Auf dem originalen Gestell (trestle-stand) liegt das Instrument auf, welches aus Mahagoni mit umlaufenden Einlegearbeiten...

Mehr Informationen

Ferdinand Weber ca. 1775

Dieses seltene Tafelklavier in der Sammlung zeigt eines der wenigen erhaltenen Instrumente mit einem „Venezianischen Schweller“. Der Korpus und das originale Gestell sind aus Mahagoni und mit Bandintarsien umrahmt. Das Gestell verfügt über eine kleine Ablagefläche („m...

Mehr Informationen

Jacobus Ball ca. 1775/80

Bei diesem Instrument handelt es sich um das wahrscheinlich früheste erhaltene Tafelklavier von Jacobus Ball. Der Korpus des kleinen Instrumentes ist aus Mahagoni mit umlaufenden Bandintarsien in unterschiedlichen Hölzern. Das Instrument selbst liegt auf einem trestle-stand auf...

Mehr Informationen

Longman and Broderip 1776 – 1782

Eine der wichtigen Klavierfirmen neben J. Broadwood im späten 18. Jahrhundert war die Firma Longman & Broderip. Sie ließ Instrumente in Fremdarbeit fertigen und verkaufte diese dann unter ihrem Namen. Eines dieser Beispiele ist das vorliegende Tafelklavier. Der Korpus un...

Mehr Informationen

Johannes Pohlman 1767 (1780)

Johannes Pohlmann (später anglisiert zu „Pohlman“) zählt in der Fachliteratur zu den so genannten „12 Apostel“ des Klavierbaus im späten 18. Jahrhundert in England. Dies waren Instrumentenbauer, die nach dem Siebenjährigen Krieg in Deutschland den Kontinent verließen...

Mehr Informationen

Christopher Ganer 1780

Der Korpus des zierlichen und eleganten Instrumentes ist aus massivem Mahagoni und reich mit eingelegten Zierbändern verziert. Das originale Gestell, auf welchem das Instrument liegt, ist an den Seiten mit Bronzeapplikationen verziert. Die Untertasten sind mit Elfenbein und d...

Mehr Informationen

Jacobus Ball ca. 1780

Der Korpus des Instrumentes ist aus massivem Mahagoni und reich mit verschiedenen Intarsien und eingelegten Zierbänder verziert. Das originale Gestell mit 6 Beinen, auf welchem das Instrument liegt, ist ebenfalls aus Mahagoni und mit Blumen, Ornamenten und Girlanden verziert. ...

Mehr Informationen

Jacobus et Abraham Kirckman 1783

Dieses Instrument der Firma Kirckman aus dem Jahr 1783 stellt ein frühes Beispiel für die Produktion von Tafelklavieren in der Umbruchszeit vom Cembalo zum Klavier dar. Die Firma Kirckman, die renommiert im 18. Jahrhundert für den Bau vom Cembali war, erweiterte Mitte der 1770...

Mehr Informationen

Christian Müller 1784

Dieses ungewöhnliche Schweizer Tafelklavier wurde 1784 von Christian Müller in Bern gefertigt. Es zeigt einige Besonderheiten und ist mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit der Prototyp für Muzio Clementis (1752 – 1832) Patent für die „Bridge of Reverberation“ welche ca. 25 Jahre...

Mehr Informationen

Joseph Hauert ca. 1785

Dieses seltene Tafelklavier der berühmten Schweizer Instrumentenbauerfamilie Hauert wurde um 1785 von Joseph Hauert in Bern gebaut. Das elegante Instrument und die dazu passenden originalen Beinen mit floralen Schnitzereien sind aus Nussholz gearbeitet. Auf der Vorderseite de...

Mehr Informationen

Christopher Ganer ca. 1785

Christopher Ganer gehörte zu den in der Literatur erwähnten "12 Apostel", die Mitte der 1760er Jahre nach England ausgewandert waren. Dieses Tafelklavier verdeutlicht die stetige Weiterentwicklung der Instrumente gegen Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts. Im Vergleich zu dem Tafelklavier...

Mehr Informationen

Schoene & Co. 1788

Der Korpus und das originale Gestell sind aus Mahagoni und mit Bandintarsien in unterschiedlichen Hölzern umrahmt. Das Gestell verfügt über eine Querverstrebung am Boden mit Pedalen und ist mit ovalen Messingbeschlägen verziert. Das Instrument verfügt über eine second ac...

Mehr Informationen

Johann Christoph Jeckel und Christian Jeckel 1789

Dieses frühe süddeutsche Instrument aus dem Jahr 1789 kommt aus der Werkstatt von Johann Christoph u. Christian Jeckel in Worms und ist absolut bauchgleich wie das Instrument aus dem Jahr 1790 im Metropolitan Museum in New York. Der Korpus des Instrumentes ist in verschieden...

Mehr Informationen

Shoehs 1790

Bei diesem frühen französischen Tafelklavier handelt es sich um ein Instrument, über dessen Erbauer bisher noch nichts bekannt ist. Bislang wurde noch keiner weiteres Instrument gefunden, sodass es sich wahrscheinlich um das einzige erhaltene Instrument handelt. Der Korpus...

Mehr Informationen

Johannes Broadwood 1790

Ein sehr frühes Beispiel der exquisiten Tafelklaviere von John Broadwood ist hier zu sehen. Der Korpus des Instrumentes ist aus Mahagoni mit umlaufenden Einlegearbeiten in unterschiedlichen Hölzern. Das Instrument selbst liegt auf dem originalen trestle-stand auf, welches eb...

Mehr Informationen

John Crang Hancock ca. 1790

Dieses seltene Tafelklavier aus der Zeit um 1785 - 1790 stellt eine absolute Besonderheit dar: Es ist bislang das einzige erhalten Instrument mit einer von Hancock neu erfundenen Mechanik in Tafelklavierform. Die Korpuswände bestehen aus mahagonifurnierter Eiche. Eingelegte A...

Mehr Informationen

Schoene & Co. 1792

Der Korpus und das originale Gestell sind aus Mahagoni und mit Bandintarsien in unterschiedlichen Hölzern umrahmt. Das Gestell verfügt über eine Querverstrebung am Boden mit Pedalen und ist mit ovalen Messingbeschlägen verziert. Das Instrument verfügt über eine second actio...

Mehr Informationen

Thomas Bates & Co. 1793

Dieses Tafelklavier von Thomas Bates ist ein Beispiel für die lange traditionelle Bauweise von Bates bis in die 1790er Jahre hinein. Während andere Klavierbauer sich in dieser Zeit mit der Weiterentwicklung des Klaviers, mit größerem Klaviaturumfang und „moderneren“ Geste...

Mehr Informationen

Schoene & Vinsen 1799

Dieses ist das jüngste von 3 Tafelklavieren der Firma Schoene, die sich derzeit in der Eric Feller Early Keyboard Collection befinden. Bei allen drei Instrumenten finden sich identisch gestaltete Vorsatzbretter und Signaturen. Auch die Mechanik und Dämpfung ist gleich gearbeite...

Mehr Informationen

John Broadwood and Son 1799

Dieses Tafelklavier von John Broadwood and Son stammt aus dem Jahr 1799. Es ist in allen Teilen gleich wie das ein Jahr später gebaute Instrument in der Eric Feller Collection. Der Korpus des Instrumentes ist aus Mahagoni mit umlaufenden Bandintarsien in unterschiedlichen Hö...

Mehr Informationen

Érard Frères et Co. 1800

Dieses sehr schlichte Tafelklavier wurde von Érard Frères et Co. im Jahr 1800 in Paris gefertigt. Der Korpus des Instrumentes und die dazu passenden originalen Beinen sind aus Mahagoni und mit einer einfachen Bonzeleiste verziert. Das Vorsatzbrett ist signiert mit: "Erard Frè...

Mehr Informationen

John Broadwood and Son 1800

Die Instrumente von John Broadwood waren im späten 18. und frühen 19. Jahrhundert sehr begehrt. Demzufolge wurde eine große Anzahl dieser Instrumente hergestellt, um die große Nachfrage an den „neuen“ Klavieren decken zu können. Der Korpus des Instrumentes ist aus Mah...

Mehr Informationen

Lambertij 1801

Dieses zierliche und absolut elegante Tafelklavier aus Paris ist das bisher einzige erhalte Instrument dieses Instrumentenbauer. Es zeichnet sich durch einen feinen und tragfähigen Klang aus. Der Korpus ist mit umlaufenden Intarsien verziert und ist (wie auch die Beine) aus M...

Mehr Informationen

Muzio Clementi 1803

Dieses Tafelklavier aus dem Jahr 1803 stammt aus der bedeutenden Werkstatt des Komponisten, Verlegers und Instrumentenbauers Muzio Clementi. Neben Broadwood waren die Instrumente von Clementi hoch geschätzt und zeichneten sich durch ihren besonderen Klang aus. Von Zeitgenosse...

Mehr Informationen

William Rolfe 1803

Dieses Tafelklavier stammt aus der Werkstatt von William Rolfe und zeigt ein Instrument von klassischer Eleganz, wie es die englische Oberschicht um die Jahrhundertwende vom 18. zum 19. Jahrhundert favorisierte. Hervorstechend ist das detailreich ausgemalte Vorsatzbrett mit Blume...

Mehr Informationen

Clementi & Co. 1804

Instrumente von Muzio Clementi wurden Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts hoch geschätzt und hatten eine sehr hohe Reputation. Unter den erhaltenen Instrumenten finden sich fast ausschließlich Instrumente mit einem Umfang von 5 ½ Oktaven und einer double-action. Dieses Tafelklavier st...

Mehr Informationen

Érard Frères 1805

  Dieses elegante Tafelklavier wurde von Érard Frères 1804/1805 in Paris gefertigt. Der Korpus des Instrumentes und die dazu passenden originalen Beinen sind aus Mahagoni, mit Intarsien und aufwändigen Bronzen verziert. Das Vorsatzbrett ist signiert mit: "Érard Fr...

Mehr Informationen

John Broadwood and Son 1807

Die Firma von John Broadwood gehörte zu einer der produktivsten Klaviermanufakturen in England im späten 18. und frühen 19. Jahrhundert. Durch die teils industrielle Fertigung wurden große Stückzahlen erreicht. Jedoch die Quantität beeinflusste die Qualität der Instrumente...

Mehr Informationen

Érard Frères 1811 aus dem Besitz von Jean-Jérôme Imbault

  Dieses außergewöhnliche Tafelklavier stellt musikgeschichtlich eine absolute Kostbarkeit dar, da es aus dem Besitz des Violinisten und bekannten Verlegers Jean-Jérôme Imbault stammt. Das Instrument von Érard Frères wurde 1811 in Paris gefertigt. Der Korpus...

Mehr Informationen

Meincke & Pieter Meyer 1811 – 1818

Meincke & Pieter Meyer gehörten zu einer der besten Klaviermanufakturen in den Niederladen gegen Ende des 18. und Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts. Dieses Tafelklavier gehört zu den elegantesten Instrumente, die die Firma baute und hebt sich deutlich von den Instrumenten aus der...

Mehr Informationen

John Broadwood and Sons 1814

Dieses elegante Tafelklavier im „Regency-Stil“ aus dem Jahr 1814 ist ein typisches Instrument des frühen 19. Jahrhunderts, wie es in sehr wohlhabenden Haushalten zu finden war. Der Korpus des Instrumentes ist aus Mahagoni und Palisander mit umlaufenden Bandintarsien in Me...

Mehr Informationen

Joseph Grus ca. 1820

Dieses Tafelklavier ist ein typischer Vertreter der französischen Empire-Instrumente aus dem Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts. Das Instrument wurde um 1820 gebaut und besticht durch seine klare Eleganz und seinen feinen Klang. Der Korpus ist aus Mahagoni und mit Bronzeapplikatione...

Mehr Informationen

Érard Frères 1822

Dieses elegante kleine Empire-Tafelklavier von Érard Frères wurde 1822 in Paris gefertigt. Der Korpus des Instrumentes und die dazu passenden originalen Beinen sind aus Mahagoni, mit Intarsien und aufwändigen Bronzen verziert. Das Vorsatzbrett ist signiert mit: "Érard Frère...

Mehr Informationen

Jean-Henri Pape 1824

Jean-Henri Pape gehörte Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts zu den innovativsten Klavierbauern seiner Zeit. Eine Vielzahl an Patenten zur Verbesserung der Spielweise und der Klangeigenschaften sind ihm zu verdanken. Dieses elegante Empire-Tafelklavier wurde 1824 in Paris gefertigt. Der...

Mehr Informationen

Charles Louis Howard ca. 1825

Dieses Tafelklavier stammt aus der berühmten Schweizer Instrumentenbauerfamilie Hauert und wurde um 1825 in Bern gefertigt. Der Korpus des Instrumentes und die dazu passenden originalen Beinen sind aus Mahagoni. Auf der Vorderseite ist eine bronzene Applikation am Schloss angebr...

Mehr Informationen

Léonard Systermans 1829

Dieses schlichte Empire-Tafelklavier wurde 1829 von Léonard Systermans in Paris gefertigt. Das Instrument besticht durch seine für das Empire eher ungewöhnlich zurückhaltende und schlichte Eleganz. Der Korpus und die dazu passenden originalen Säulenbeine sind aus Mahagoni...

Mehr Informationen

Wilhelm Braschoss ca. 1830

Dieses Schweizer Tafelklavier aus Genf zeigt den französischen und englischen Einfluss auf den Instrumentenbau in der Schweiz. Das Instrument wurde um 1830 gebaut und zeichnet sich durch seinen sehr obertonreichen Klang aus. Der Korpus und die Beine sind aus Mahagoni. Die...

Mehr Informationen