Wähle: Deutsche Sprache

Fortepianos

The Eric Feller Collection preserves a worldwide unique collection of original fortepianos from all periods and regions of piano history. Find here a fine selection of special fortepianos. Further instruments will be added regularly to complete the research on piano history.  


Instruments


Franz Xaver Christoph c. 1780/85

This unique and extraordinary fortepiano is one of the earliest preserved fortepianos of the 18th  century from Vienna. Vienna was next to Paris and London one of the main cities of piano making. In addition to Anton Walter, the organ and piano builder Franz Xaver Christoph was...

more

Karl Benedict c. 1785

This fortepiano is a typical example of the instruments from the period of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791). It is the first and oldest built piano by Karl Benedict in Graz and dates back to around 1785. To this day it is an absolute rarity that the first built instrument...

more

Abraham & Josephus Kirckman 1789

This instrument is the oldest preserved fortepiano by Abraham & Josephus Kirckman worldwide. It was built in London in 1789 and is one of the few instruments with a compass of 5 octaves. The case and the original stand is made in mahogany with encircling inlays in differen...

more

Johannes Broadwood 1792

This is the earliest dated grand piano made by John Broadwood in the Eric Feller Collection and similar to the instrument in the Metropolitan Museum in New York USA. The case is made of mahogany with inlays of different woods. Three brass locks to close the lid are mounted around...

more

John Broadwood and Son 1799

This charming grand piano of the well known company John Broadwood is a fine example for the early English grand piano. The case is made of mahogany with inlays of different woods. Three brass locks to close the lid are mounted around the case. The keyboard is made of ivory and e...

more

Érard Frères 1802 owned by Anne Angélique de Mackau, Comtesse de Saint-Alphonse

This elegant fortepiano is one of the rarest instruments worldwide and comes from the circle around Emperor Napoleon! It is one of the earliest preserved grand pianos from the workshop Érard and is identical in construction to the instrument which was given to Ludwig van Beethov...

more

John Broadwood and Son 1803

The case is made of mahogany with inlays of different woods. Three brass locks to close the lid are mounted around the case.The keyboard is made of ivory and ebony, the hammers are covered with leather, triple strung and the instrument has single dampers. The piano rests on th...

more

Friedrich Kuhlbörs c. 1805

This early fortepiano by Friedrich Kuhlbörs is one of a few surviving fortepianos made by this outstanding piano maker. The instrument has never been restored before and was in absolute original condition with original strings. It is absolutely similar to the instrument in the c...

more

Heinrich Janssen c. 1810/15

This charming grand fortepiano is a testimony to the elegant and perfect craftsmanship of Viennese piano making in the early 19th century. The case is made of nut and polished with shellac. On the sides and around the keyboard it is decorated with the original fire-gilt bronzes....

more

Wilhelm Neumann c. 1820

This grand fortepiano was made by Wilhelm Neumann in Vienna and was built around 1820. It is the only surviving known instrument made by Neumann. The elegant walnut triple bent side case stands on 3 Empire style legs with a small ornamental lyre and 5 pedals. The nameboard...

more

Anton Zierer c. 1820

At the beginning of the 19th century London, Paris and Vienna were the major locations of piano making. A variety of instrument makers built instrument of varying quality to serve the demand for pianos. All over Europe the instruments from Vienna were highly regarded by composers...

more

Nannette Streicher neé Stein 1822

This elegant Empire concert grand piano comes from one of the most famous workshops in Vienna: Nannette Streicher. The instrument was built in 1822 and is characterized by its great length of 250 cm and absolutely charming sound. The case is made in mahogany and decorated arou...

more

William Stodart c. 1823 – Compensator Frame

This absolutely rare fortepiano is one of a few models that represent a special model within the "Compensator Frame" series. So far there is only on other model of this type known. It is an identical instrument in London's Buckingham Palace, owned by the Queen of England. The...

more

William Stodart & Son c. 1828 – Compensator Frame

This exceptional fortepiano from the English company William Stodart & Son is an example of the companies’ specific "Compensator - Frame" instruments. A second earlier grand piano is also in the Eric Feller collection. The case, still in the harpsichord shape, is made of...

more

John Broadwood and Sons 1830

This elegant concert grand fortepiano made by the traditional company of Broadwood and Sons shows an important step in the evolution from the first fortepianos at the end of the 18th century to the modern pianos of today. Today there are only a few instruments from the 1830s by B...

more

Rousselot c. 1830

This rare fortepiano is an instrument with typical French elegance. It was build around 1830 in Nîmes. The case is made in mahogany, rosewood and other different woods and decorated with inlays and ormolu decorations. The keyboard is made in ivory and ebony and the nameboard rea...

more

Joseph Simon c. 1827/30

This fortepiano by Joseph Simon was built around 1827/30 in Vienna and shows the traditional construction that Simon had taken over from his teacher Conrad Graf and continued. The names of Beethoven and Graf are closely connected together in musical history. The instruments of Gr...

more

Carl Bechstein 1877

This grand piano made by the company of Carl Bechstein in Berlin shows impressively the further development of the piano. The case with the angular shape is made in black shellac and stands on three legs with brass castors. The nameboard is signed with: „C. Bechstein Hof ...

more

John Broadwood and Sons 1889 – Art Case

This Art Case Gothic style concert grand piano by John Broadwood and Sons was made in 1889 and shows the outstanding craftsmanship by that company. The instrument not only impresses with its powerful sound and elegant case, but also with its interesting history...   Th...

more

Gabriel Gaveau 1911 – Art Case

After Pleyel and Erard the Gaveau company was in the 19th century the third major pianocompany in France. In 1911 Gabriel Gaveau, one of the sons of company founder Joseph Gabriel Gaveau, founded his own company and thus entered into direct competition with his brother Étienne,...

more

Chose English language

Hammerflügel

Die Eric Feller Collection beherbergt eine weltweit einzigartige Sammlung an originalen Hammerflügeln aus allen Epochen und Regionen der Instrumentenbaugeschichte. Hier finden Sie eine Auswahl an besonderen Hammerflügeln. Weitere Instrumente werden regelmäßig hinzugefügt, um die Forschung hinsichtlich der Baugeschichte des Klaviers zu vervollständigen.   


Instrumente


Karl Benedict ca. 1785

Dieser Hammerflügel ist ein typisches Beispiel der Instrumente aus der Zeit von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 - 1791).  Er ist der erste und älteste gebaute Flügel von Karl Benedict aus Graz und stammt aus der Zeit um 1785. Bis heute ist es eine absolute Rarität, dass das er...

Mehr Informationen

Abraham & Josephus Kirckman 1789

Dieses Instrument ist der älteste erhaltene Hammerflügel von Abraham & Josephus Kirckman weltweit. Er wurde 1789 in London gebaut und zählt zu den wenigen Instrumenten, die nur über 5 Oktaven verfügen. Der Korpus und das originale Gestell des Instrumentes ist aus Maha...

Mehr Informationen

Johannes Broadwood 1792

Dieser Hammerflügel ist der bisher früheste datierte Hammerflügel von John Broadwood in der Eric Feller Collection und baugleich wie das Instrument im Metropolitan Museum in New York USA. Er ist einer der ersten Hammerflügel mit 5 ½ Oktaven Umfang. Vom Äußeren unterscheide...

Mehr Informationen

John Broadwood and Son 1799

Dieser Hammerflügel der Traditionsfirma John Broadwood ist ein frühes Beispiel exzellenter Handwerkskunst. Vom Äußeren unterscheidet er sich kaum von den anderen Flügeln in der Eric Feller Collection. Der Korpus ist ebenfalls aus Mahagoni mit umlaufenden Einlegearbeiten i...

Mehr Informationen

Érard Frères 1802 aus dem Besitz von Anne Angélique de Mackau, Comtesse de Saint-Alphonse

Dieser elegante Hammerflügel zählt zu den absoluten Raritäten weltweit und stammt aus dem Umfeld Kaiser Napoleons! Er zählt mit zu den frühesten erhaltenen Hammerflügeln aus der Werkstatt Erards und ist baugleich wie das Instrument welches damals Ludwig van Beethoven gesche...

Mehr Informationen

John Broadwood and Son 1803

Der Korpus des Instrumentes ist aus Mahagoni mit umlaufenden Einlegearbeiten in unterschiedlichen Hölzern gestaltet, die kassettenförmig angeordnet sind. Drei Messingschließen zum verschließen des Deckels sind umlaufend angebracht. Die Tastatur ist aus Elfenbein und Ebenho...

Mehr Informationen

Friedrich Kuhlbörs ca. 1805

Dieser frühe Hammerflügel von Friedrich Kuhlbörs ist einer von wenigen erhaltenen Hammerflügeln dieses herausragenden Klavierbauern. Der Flügel wurde noch nie vorher restauriert und zeigte sich in absolutem Originalzustand mit der originalen Besaitung. Er ist absolut bauglei...

Mehr Informationen

Heinrich Janssen ca. 1810/15

Dieser Hammerflügel ist ein Zeugnis der eleganten und perfekten Handwerkskunst des Wiener Klavierbaus. Der Korpus ist aus Nuss und mit Schellack poliert. Umseitig und um die Tastatur ist der Flügel mit den originalen feuervergoldeten Bronzen verziert. Häufig gingen diese Bronz...

Mehr Informationen

Wilhelm Neumann ca. 1820

Dieser Hammerflügel in der abgerundeten Form stammt von Wilhelm Neumann aus Wien und wurde um 1820 gebaut. Er ist der bisher einzig erhaltene Hammerflügel von Neumann weltweit. Der elegante dreifach gebogene Korpus aus Walnuss steht auf 3 Beinen im Empire-Stil mit einer klei...

Mehr Informationen

Anton Zierer ca. 1820

Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts waren London, Paris und Wien die großen Zentren des Klavierbaus. Eine Vielzahl von Instrumentenbauern baute in unterschiedlicher Qualität Instrument, um die Nachfrage an Klavieren bedienen zu können. Weit über die Lande waren die Instrumente aus Wi...

Mehr Informationen

Nannette Streicher neé Stein 1822

Dieser große und eleganter Hammerflügel im Stil des Empire stammt aus einer der berühmtesten Werkstätten aus Wien: Nannette Streicher. Das Instrument wurde 1822 gebaut und ist zeichnet sich durch seine große Länge von 250 cm aus. Der Korpus ist in Mahagoni und um die Kla...

Mehr Informationen

William Stodart ca. 1823 – Compensator Frame

Dieser seltene Hammerflügel ist einer der wenigen Modelle, die innerhalb der „Compensator – Frame“ Baureihe ein Sondermodell darstellt. Er besticht durch das ungewöhnliche Gestell. Bisher ist nur ein weiteres Modell in dieser Bauart bekannt – es ist ein baugleiches Inst...

Mehr Informationen

William Stodart & Son ca. 1828 – Compensator Frame

Dieser außergewöhnliche Hammerflügel der englischen Firma William Stodart & Son ist ein Beispiel der für die Firma bautypischen „Compensator – Frame“ Instrumente. Ein zweiter, früherer Flügel befindet sich ebenfalls in der Sammlung. Der Korpus, noch mit der eck...

Mehr Informationen

John Broadwood and Sons 1830

Dieser elegante Konzertflügel der Traditionsfirma Broadwood zeigt einen wichtigen Schritt bei der Weiterentwicklung von den ersten Hammerflügeln Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts hin zu den modernen Flügeln von heute. Selten finden sich heute noch Hammerflügel von Broadwood aus den 1...

Mehr Informationen

Rousselot ca. 1830

Dieser seltene Hammerflügel aus der Sammlung historischer Tasteninstrumente von Eric Feller ist ein Instrument von typisch französischer Eleganz - im Klang als auch in der Optik und zeigt den Geist der romantischen Epoche auf außerordentliche Weise. Das Instrument wurde um...

Mehr Informationen

Joseph Simon ca. 1827/30

Dieser Hammerflügel von Joseph Simon wurde um 1827/30 in Wien gebaut und zeigt die traditionelle Bauweise, die Simon von seinem Lehrer Conrad Graf übernommen und fortgeführt hatte. Die Namen Beethoven und Graf sind in der Musikgeschichte mittlerweile untrennbar miteinander ver...

Mehr Informationen

Carl Bechstein 1877

Dieser Konzertflügel der Firma Carl Bechstein aus Berlin ist in moderner Bauweise gefertigt und zeigt eindrucksvoll die Weiterentwicklung des Klavierbaus. Der Korpus mit der eckigen Form ist in schwarzem Schellack gehalten und steht auf drei eckigen Beinen, die sich nach unte...

Mehr Informationen

John Broadwood and Sons 1889 – Art Case

Dieser Art Case Konzertflügel von John Broadwood and Sons wurde 1889 im gotischen Stil gefertigt und zeigt die herausragende Handwerkskunst der Traditionsfirma. Das Instrument besticht nicht nur durch seinen gewaltigen Klang und das elegante Gehäuse, sondern auch durch seine in...

Mehr Informationen

Gabriel Gaveau 1911 – Art Case

Die Firma Gaveau war nach Pleyel und Erard im 19. Jahrhundert die drittgrößte Klavierbaufirma in Frankreich. Im Jahr 1911 gründete Gabriel Gaveau, einer der Söhne von Firmengründer Joseph Gabriel Gaveau, seine eigene Firma und trat somit in direkte Konkurrenz zu seinem Brude...

Mehr Informationen