Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in /var/www/web27943793/html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-seo/frontend/schema/class-schema-utils.php on line 26
Wähle: Deutsche Sprache

Johannes Pohlman 1767 (1780)

Description

Date: 1780

Origin: London

Serialnumber: ---

Johannes Pohlmann (later anglicised to “Pohlman“) is one of the so-called “12 Apostles” of piano making in the late 18th century in England. These were instrument makers who left the continent after the Seven Years War in Germany to immigrate to England. For more information about The 12 Apostles of Piano Making”, see the publication here.

The instruments of Pohlman are characterized by a very elegant sound and are similar to those made by Johannes Zumpe. In a letter from 1774, Charles Burney praised the sound of Pohlman’s instruments and bought several instruments for himself and his students.

The delicate and elegant instrument is based on the original frame (trestle-stand), which is made of mahogany with encircling inlays in different woods. The instrument has a single action, three stops for a split damping (bass and treble) and a lute.

The nameboard bears the signature in an oval cartouche:

“Johannes Pohlman Londini Fecit 1767

Great Russel Street Bloomsbury”

The compass of the instrument has 5 octaves (FF – f3), double strung and the keyboard is made of ivory and ebony.

Interesting is the date on the instrument. The nameboard bears as year of construction 1767 but on a closer look you can see that this year has been changed in the last two digits and has been rewritten to make the instrument older. Due to the design and the address written on the nameboard, the instrument must have made around 1780. Furthermore Pohlman is detectable only from 1767/68 on in London. Old insurance records indicate he was sharing business with Adam & Lorence Beyer at Compton Street in Soho at the time. On top of that, the signature “Great Russel Street Bloomsbury” was used by Pohlman only after his move there in 1777. Previously, he did not sign his instruments with an address.

Such changes in dates for making them older can sometimes be found at instruments. On the other way around in changing a date to “rejuvenate” instruments, is extremely rare, but also occurred sometimes. To see such an example of changing a date feel free to look at the instrument made by Ferdinand Weber in the Eric Feller Collection (click here).

Due to the unusual date signature, the history of the instrument could be partially revealed. The instrument belonged to the 3rd Marquess of Exeter, William Cecil (1825 – 1895) and was part of the inventory of Burghley House near Stamford in Lincolnshire. It was exhibited in London in 1872 at the Kensington Museum’s Special Exhibition of Ancient Musical Instruments as the earliest preserved instrument by Johannes Pohlman.

Catalog Kensington Museum Exhibition 1872

Catalog Kensington Museum Exhibition 1872

Catalog Kensington Museum Exhibition 1872 - Pohlman square piano 1767

Catalog Kensington Museum Exhibition 1872 – Pohlman square piano 1767

 

Johannes Pohlmann was born in Germany (the exact year of birth is not yet known) and immigrated to England during or after the Seven Years’ War (1756 – 1763) in Germany. He is detectable from 1767/68 in London and made pianos and harpsichords in Compton Street, Soho and later from 1777 in No. 113 Great Russell Street, Bloomsbury.

In 1769 he married Dorothea Ludewigen. Both had a son named John George Pohlman, who was born in 1774/75.

In December 1792 Johannes Pohlman died and was buried in Whitefield’s Chapel, at Tottenham Court Road.

 

 

Further preserved instruments by Johannes Pohlman:

  • 1773 square piano – Victoria and Albert Museum, London England
  • 1778 square piano – Staatliches Institut für Musikforschung, Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Berlin Germany
  • c.1780 square piano – Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe, Hamburg Germany

 

 

Length: 150 cm

Width: 54 cm

Height: 19,5 cm

Circumference: 5 ocatves (FF – f3)

Mechanics: single action

Pedals: 3 stops - split damping (bass and treble), lute

Signature: "Johannes Pohlman Londini Fecit 1767
Great Russel Street Bloomsbury"

Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in /var/www/web27943793/html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-seo/frontend/schema/class-schema-utils.php on line 26
Chose English language

Johannes Pohlman 1767 (1780)

Informationen

Datum: 1780

Herkunft: London

Seriennummer: ---

Johannes Pohlmann (später anglisiert zu „Pohlman“) zählt in der Fachliteratur zu den so genannten „12 Apostel“ des Klavierbaus im späten 18. Jahrhundert in England. Dies waren Instrumentenbauer, die nach dem Siebenjährigen Krieg in Deutschland den Kontinent verließen, um nach England zu immigrieren. Für weitere Informationen zu den 12 Apostel des Klavierbaus“ siehe die Publikation hier.

Die Instrumente von Pohlman zeichnen sich durch einen äußerst eleganten Klang aus und sind denen von Johannes Zumpe in größten Teilen ähnlich. Charles Burney lobte 1774 in einem Brief den Klang der Instrumente von Pohlman und kaufte mehrere Exemplare für sich und seine Schüler.

Das zierliche und elegante Instrument liegt auf dem originalen Gestell (trestle-stand) auf, welches aus Mahagoni mit umlaufenden Einlegearbeiten in unterschiedlichen Hölzern gebaut ist. Das Instrument verfügt über eine single action, drei Registerzüge für eine geteilte Dämpfungsaufhebung (Bass und Diskant) und einen Lautenzug.

Das Vorsatzbrett trägt in einer ovalen Kartusche die Signatur:

„Johannes Pohlman Londini Fecit 1767

Great Russel Street Bloomsbury“

Der Umfang des Instrumentes beträgt 5 Oktaven (FF – f3) und ist durchgängig zweichörig bezogen. Die Tastatur ist aus Elfenbein und Ebenholz gearbeitet.

Interessant ist die Datierung des Instrumentes. Angegeben auf dem Vorsatzbrett findet sich das Baujahr 1767. Bei genauerem Hinsehen kann man jedoch erkennen, das diese Jahreszahl bei den hinteren beiden Ziffern verändert worden ist und neu überschrieben wurde. Aufgrund der Bauart und der von Pohlman angegebenen Adresse muss das Instrument aus der Zeit um 1780 stammen. Als weiteren Beweis lässt sich anführen, dass er erst ab 1767/68 in London nachweisbar ist. Aus alten Versicherungsunterlagen geht hervor, dass er sich zu der Zeit mit Adam & Lorence Beyer in der Compton Street in Soho Geschäftsräume teilte. Weiterhin wurde die Signatur „Great Russel Street Bloomsbury“ von Pohlman erst nach seinem Umzug dorthin ab 1777 verwendet. Zuvor signierte er seine Instrumente gar nicht mit einer Adresse.

Solche Veränderung der Datierungen findet sich ab und zu bei Instrumenten. Vornehmlich wurden Instrumente in spätern Jahren, als das Interesse für diese Instrumente aufkam, älter gemacht, wie das Instrument von Pohlman hier zeigt. Eine Datierung zur „Verjüngung“ der Instrumente dagegen ist äußerst selten, kam jedoch auch vor. Ein Beispiel einer solchen Veränderung der Signatur zeigt das Instrument von Ferdinand Weber in der Eric Feller Collection (siehe hier).

Durch die ungewöhnliche Jahreszahl konnte die Geschichte des Instrumentes zum Teil aufgedeckt werden: Das Instrument stammt aus dem Besitz des 3. Marquess of Exeter, William Cecil (1825 – 1895) und gehörte zum Inventar von Burghley House unweit von Stamford in Lincolnshire.

Es wurde 1872 in der Special Exhibition of Ancient Musical Instruments in London im Kensington Museum als das früheste erhaltene Instrument von Johannes Pohlman ausgestellt.

Catalog Kensington Museum Exhibition 1872

Catalog Kensington Museum Exhibition 1872

Catalog Kensington Museum Exhibition 1872 - Pohlman square piano 1767

Catalog Kensington Museum Exhibition 1872 – Pohlman square piano 1767

 

 

Johannes Pohlmann wurde in Deutschland geboren (das genaue Geburtsjahr ist bisher allerdings nicht bekannt) und immigrierte während oder nach dem Siebenjährigen Krieg (1756–1763) in Deutschland nach England. Er ist ab 1767/68 in London nachweisbar und fertigte Klaviere und Cembali erst in der Compton Street, Soho und später dann ab 1777 in der Great Russell Street No. 113, Bloomsbury.

1769 heiratete er Dorothea Ludewigen und beide hatten zusammen einen Sohn John George Pohlman, der 1774/75 geboren wurde.

Im Dezember 1792 starb Johannes Pohlman und wurde in der Whitefield’s Chapel, in der Tottenham Court Road beigesetzt.

 

 

Weitere erhaltene Instrumente von Johannes Pohlman:

  • 1773 Tafelklavier – Victoria and Albert Museum, London England
  • 1778 Tafelklavier – Staatliches Institut für Musikforschung, Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Berlin Deutschland
  • 1780 Tafelklavier – Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe, Hamburg Deutschland

 

 

Länge: 150 cm

Breite: 54 cm

Höhe: 19,5 cm

Umfang: 5 Oktaven (FF – f3)

Mechanik: single action

Pedale: 3 Registerzüge - geteilte Dämpfungsaufhebung, Lautenzug

Signatur: "Johannes Pohlman Londini Fecit 1767
Great Russel Street Bloomsbury"