Wähle: Deutsche Sprache

John Broadwood and Sons 1830

Description

Date: 1830

Origin: London

Serialnumber: 12231

This elegant concert grand fortepiano made by the traditional company of Broadwood and Sons shows an important step in the evolution from the first fortepianos at the end of the 18th century to the modern pianos of today. Today there are only a few instruments from the 1830s by Broadwood known.

 

The case is made in mahogany in the style of George IV. The keyboard is made of ivory and ebony, the hammers are covered with felt, triple strings (except the last 6 notes in the bass, which are double strung) and the instrument has got single dampers.

The piano stands on four small baluster legs and has a wooden lyre with the typical two Broadwood duckfeet pedals for controlling the dampers and due corde / una corda. The compass of the keyboard is 6 ½ octaves (CC – f4).

The serial number (12231) is written in ink on the left side of the wrest plank . On the right side there are the initials “A. D.” and the year of construction “1830” written in ink.

The nameboard bears the inscription in a brass decorated cartouche:

“Patent

John Broadwood & Sons

Makers to His Majesty and the Princesses

Great Pulteney Street Golden Square

London

Due to the large length of 241 cm and the triple strings, a larger volume of sound can be generated. To increase the sound, Broadwood experimented with metal reinforcements in the 1820s. In 1827 they patented a small hitchpin plate – a single metal plate into which were set all of the hitchpins. The longitudinal metal bars above the strings were fastened to the metal hitchpin plate, which was screwed into the wooden block beneath. This invention was similarly quickly copied by other companies such as Pleyel (1828) or Pape (1828). Furthermore, the piano has four metal struts in the treble.

This rare fortepiano shows an absolutely authentic sound of early romantic period in England, which is very different from the ideal on the continent, such as in France or Austria.

 

 

John Broadwood was born on 6th October 1732 in Oldhamstocks near Cockburnspath in Scotland. He learned the profession of being a cabinetmaker like his father before.

In 1761 he started working for Burkat Shudi (1702 – 1773) in London and in 1770 became his business partner. In 1771 he opened his own shop on Great Pulteney Street in London. In 1769 he married Burkat Shudi’s daughter Barbara in her first marriage and had four children with her. After his wife’s death in 1776 he married Mary Kitson in 1781 and had six children with her. He died on 17th July 1812 in London. Controling

 

 

Other surviving instruments by John Broadwood and Sons:

  • c.1830 grand piano – Gargunnock: Stirling family, Stirlingshire Scotland
  • c.1830 grand piano – Detroit Institute of Arts Museum, Detroit USA

 

 

Length: 241 cm

Width: 124 cm

Height: 30 cm

Circumference: 6 ½ octaves (CC – f4)

Mechanics: English action

Pedals: 2 pedals - dampers, una/due corde

Signature: „Patent
John Broadwood & Sons
Makers to his Majesty and the Princesses
Great Pulteney Street Golden Square
London”

Chose English language

John Broadwood and Sons 1830

Informationen

Datum: 1830

Herkunft: London

Seriennummer: 12231

Dieser elegante Konzertflügel der Traditionsfirma Broadwood zeigt einen wichtigen Schritt bei der Weiterentwicklung von den ersten Hammerflügeln Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts hin zu den modernen Flügeln von heute. Selten finden sich heute noch Hammerflügel von Broadwood aus den 1830er Jahren.

 

Der Korpus des Instrumentes ist im Stile George IV. gehalten und ist aus Mahagoni. Zwei hölzerne Schließen zum Verschließen des Deckels sind umlaufend angebracht.

Die Tastatur ist aus Elfenbein und Ebenholz gearbeitet, die Hämmer sind mit Filz bezogen, 3 chöriger Saitenbezug (außer die letzten 6 Töne im Bass, welche zweichörig bezogen sind) und das Instrument verfügt über eine Einzeldämpfung mit Dockenleiste.

Der Flügel steht auf vier schlanken Balusterbeinen und hat eine Lyra aus Holz mit den typischen zwei Schnabelpedalen von Broadwood für Dämpfungsaufhebung und due corde/una corda. Der Klaviaturumfang beträgt 6 ½ Oktaven (CC – f4).

Die Seriennummer (12231) ist auf der linken Seite des Stimmstockes mit Tinte geschrieben. Auf der rechten Seite finden sich die Initialen „A. D.“ und das Baujahr „1830“ mit Tinte geschrieben.

Das Vorsatzbrett trägt in einer mit Messing eingelegten und verzierten Kartusche die Aufschrift:

„Patent

John Broadwood & Sons

Makers to his Majesty and the Princesses

Great Pulteney Street Golden Square

London

Aufgrund der großen Länge von 241 cm und der größtenteils dreichörigen Besaitung kann ein größeres Klangvolumen erzeugt werden, weshalb es sich bei diesem Instrument um einen Konzertflügel handelt, der für größere Räumlichkeiten bestimmt war. Um die Klangeigenschaften noch weiter zu verstärken experimentierte Broadwood in den 1820er Jahren mit Metallverstärkungen. So wurde 1827 ein Patent entwickelt, bei dem die Stimmanhangsstifte in eine Metallplatte geschraubt wurden. Diese Erfindung wurde von anderen Firmen wie Pleyel (1828) oder Pape (1828) in ähnlicher Weise schnell kopiert. Weiterhin hat der Flügel vier Metallverstrebungen im Diskant.

Dieser seltene Hammerflügel bildet ein absolut authentisches Klangbild der frühen Romantik in England ab, welches sich doch sehr von dem Ideal auf dem Kontinent wie beispielsweise in Frankreich oder Österreich unterscheidet.

 

 

John Broadwood wurde am 6. Oktober 1732 in Oldhamstocks in der Nähe von Cockburnspath in Schottland geboren. Er erlernte den Beruf des Möbeltischlers wie schon sein Vater zuvor.

Im Jahr 1761 begann er bei Burkat Shudi (1702 – 1773) in London zu arbeiten und wurde 1770 sein Geschäftspartner. 1771 eröffnete er sein eigenes Geschäft in der Great Pulteney Street in London. John Broadwood heiratete 1769 Burkat Shudis Tochter Barbara in erster Ehe und hatte mit ihr vier Kinder. Nach dem frühen Tode (1776) seiner Frau heiratete er in zweiter Ehe 1781 Mary Kitson und hatte mit ihr sechs Kinder.

Er starb am 17. Juli 1812 in London.

 

 

Weitere erhaltene Instrumente von John Broadwood and Sons:

  • 1830 Hammerflügel – Gargunnock: Stirling family, Stirlingshire Schottland
  • 1830 Hammerflügel – Detroit Institute of Arts Museum, Detroit USA

 

 

Länge: 241 cm

Breite: 124 cm

Höhe: 30 cm

Umfang: 6 ½ Oktaven (CC – f4)

Mechanik: Englische Mechanik

Pedale: 2 Pedale für Dämpfungsaufhebung und due corde – una corda

Signatur: „Patent
John Broadwood & Sons
Makers to his Majesty and the Princesses
Great Pulteney Street Golden Square
London”