Wähle: Deutsche Sprache

The Piano Company of Sébastien Érard

Towards the end of the 18th and the beginning of the 19th century there were three major centres of piano making: Vienna, London and Paris. One of the Parisian companies that brought it to world fame was the workshop of Sébastien Érard. Instruments from his workshop gained international fame and were appreciated by musicians and composers.

Sébastien Érard was born on April 5, 1752 in Strasbourg and was one of the most important piano makers in the late 18th and 19th centuries. Besides Taskin and Mercken he built the first pianos in France.

His father worked as cabinet-maker and in 1768 he was an apprentice by various harpsichord makers in Paris (unfortunately it is not known who he was apprenticed to). From 1770 on he had his own workshop in Rue de Bourbon. In addition to pianos he also built harps.

In 1781 he moved with his workshop in No. 13/21 Rue du Mail. His brother Jean-Baptiste (1750 – 1826) joined the same year from Alsace and supported the work and lent him money. On February 5, 1785 Sébastien received the official license for the construction of instruments. Together with his brother in 1788 an official partnership was found and the two brothers expanded their business in 1792 to London. The address was No. 18 Great Marlborough Street.

After the end of the French Revolution and the expansion of the branch in London he returned to Paris in 1796.

According to old business documents the first grand piano was built in 1796. In 1803 the company donated Ludwig van Beethoven a grand piano. Beethoven’s piano with the serial number 133 is identical to the Érard grand piano of 1802 (serial number 107) in the Eric Feller Early Keyboard Collection. Beethoven left the instrument to his brother Nikolaus Johann in 1824/1825. After that in 1845 the instrument finally came into the collection of the Oberösterreichisches Landesmuseums in Linz.

Early grand pianos by Érard are characterized by an excellent sound, light play and a highly elegant workmanship. The customer had the opportunity to choose from different bronzes for decoration of the case when ordering.

In 1808 Sébastien Érard first patented a repetition action and agraffes. In the years 1808 – 1814 Sébastien lived in England, while his brother Jean Baptiste continued the company in France, which went bankrupt in 1813. However, with payments from the London branch, the claims could be settled and the business continued.

 

Pierre Érard - Portrait um 1820 - Eric Feller Collection

Pierre Érard – Portrait um 1820 – Eric Feller Collection

 

In 1814 Jean Baptiste Pierre Orphée Érard (1794 – 1855), Sébastien’s nephew went to London. He led the company with great success so that Sébastien could return to France. After the death of his brother Jean-Baptiste in 1826 Pierre became a partner in the company. In 1822 the first pianos with a compass of 7 octaves were built. These instruments were reinforced with different metal bars. In the same year, Pierre Érard patented (patent number: 2170) a “Compensator Frame” grand piano, which were made on the basis of the instruments by William Allen and James Thom at William Stodart in London. Through the London office Pierre came into contact with these modern instruments which were patented in England two years earlier in 1820. Since the patent had already been issued in England he made an almost identical patent under his name in France. An example of the BritishCompensator Frame” instruments by William Stodart can be found here.

Various patents and developments of Érard contributed to the great success of the company. For example, the invention of the double repetition action 1821 (patent number: 4631) which is still used today in instruments.

The company quickly became one of the leading piano manufactures. For example Franz Liszt (1811 – 1886) preferred Érard instruments in his concerts.

On 5 August 1831 Sébastien Érard died in La Muette near Passy. The company was then continued by his nephew Pierre with great success.

After the death of Pierre on 16 August 1855 the company was continued by his wife Camille Février and her stepbrother M. Schaeffer in France. The London Branch was headed by M. Bruzaud. In August 1873 Amédée Blondel became a partner of Camille Érard and director of the company in Paris.

In the 1960s, Érard merged with Gaveau, Boisselot and Pleyel and was then bought by the Braunschweig piano company Schimmel. In the 1990s the company was bought back by some private investors and the production of pianos was continued until the closure of the company in 2013.

 

 

Sources:

  • Harding R.E.M .: The Pianoforte – its history traced to the Great Industrial Exhibition of 1851 (Gresham Books 1978)
  • Bloom, P .: Music in Paris in the 1830’s. New York, Pendragon press 1987
  • Brancour, R .: Histoire des instruments de musique. Paris, Henri Laurens 1921
  • Burnett, R .: Company of pianos. Finchcock’s Press, 2004
  • Emmanuel, A .: La harpe, son évolution, ses facteurs. Paris, Dessain et Tolra. 1980
  • Getreau, F .: Les collections instrumental du Conservatoire de Paris. 1793-1993. Paris, Editions Klincksieck. 1996
  • Melville, D .: Beethoven’s pianos: The Beethoven Companion. London, Faber and Faber. 1971
  • Adelson R., Roudier A., Nex J., Barthel L., Foussard M .: The History of the Erard Piano and Harp in Letters and Documents, 1785-1959, Cambridge 2015

© Eric Feller – Early Keyboard Collection – April 2018

Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in /var/www/web27943793/html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-seo/frontend/schema/class-schema-utils.php on line 26
Chose English language

Die Klaviermanufaktur Sébastien Érard in Paris

Gegen Ende des 18. und Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts gab es drei große Zentren des Klavierbaus: Wien, London und Paris. Eine der Pariser Firmen, die es zu Weltruhm brachte, war der Betrieb von Sébastien Érard. Instrumente aus seiner Werkstatt erlangten internationale Berühmtheit und wurden von Musikern und Komponisten gleichermaßen geschätzt.

Sébastien Érard wurde am 5. April 1752 in Straßburg geboren und gehört zu den bedeutendsten Klavierbauern im späten 18. und 19. Jahrhundert. Neben Taskin und Mercken baute er die ersten Klaviere in Frankreich.

Sein Vater war Möbelschreiner und er ging 1768 bei verschiedenen Pariser Cembalobauern in die Lehre (leider ist nicht überliefert, bei wem er in der Lehre war). Ab 1770 hatte er seine eigene Werkstatt der Rue de Bourbon. Neben Klavieren wurden auch Harfen gebaut.

Im Jahre 1781 wechselte er mit seiner Werkstatt in die Rue du Mail No. 13 und 21. Sein Bruder Jean-Baptiste (1750 – 1826) kam im gleichen Jahr aus dem Elsass hinzu und unterstütze die Arbeiten und lieh ihm Geld. Am 5. Februar 1785 erhielt Sébastien die offizielle Lizenz für den Bau von Instrumenten. Zusammen mit seinem Bruder entstand dann 1788 eine offizielle Partnerschaft und die beiden weiteten ihr Geschäft ab 1792 nach London aus. Die Adresse war Great Marlborough Street No. 18. 1794 patentierte er eine erste Mechanik.

Nach dem Ende der französischen Revolution und dem Ausbau der Zweigstelle in London ging er 1796 nach Paris zurück.

Laut den erhaltenen Geschäftsunterlagen bauten die beiden den ersten Flügel im Jahre 1796. 1803 schenkte die Firma Ludwig van Beethoven einen Flügel. Beethovens Geschenk mit der Seriennummer 133 ist baugleich wie der Érard Flügel von 1802 (Seriennummer 107) in der Eric Feller Early Keyboard Collection. Beethoven überließ das Instrument 1824/1825 seinem Bruder Nikolaus Johann. Über ihn kam das Instrument schließlich 1845 in den Besitz des Oberösterreichischen Landesmuseums nach Linz.

Die Flügel von Érard zeichneten sich durch einen hervorragenden Klang, leichte Spielweise und eine hoch elegante Verarbeitung aus. Der Kunde hatte bei Bestellung die Möglichkeit, aus verschiedenen Bronzen für die Verzierung des Korpus auswählen zu können.

1808 patentierte Sébastien Érard als erster eine Repetitionsmechanik und Agraffen im Klavierbau. In den Jahren von 1808 bis 1814 lebte Sébastien in England, während sein Bruder Jean Baptiste die Firma in Frankreich weiter führte, die jedoch 1813 bankrott ging. Mit Zahlungen aus der florierenden Londoner Zweigstelle konnten die Forderungen jedoch beglichen werden und Betrieb weitergeführt werden.

 

Pierre Érard - Portait um 1820 - Eric Feller Collection

Pierre Érard – Portrait um 1820 – Eric Feller Collection

 

1814 ging Jean Baptiste Pierre Orphée Érard (1794 –1855), Sébastiens Neffe nach London. Er führte die Außenstelle mit großem Geschick, dass Sébastien nach Frankreich zurückkehren konnte.  Nach dem Tod des Bruders Jean-Baptiste 1826 wurde Pierre Teilhaber der Firma. Im Jahr 1822 wurden erstmals Klaviere mit 7 Oktaven Umfang gebaut. Diese Instrumente waren mit verschiedenen Metallspreizen verstärkt. Im gleichen Jahr wurde von Pierre Érard unter der Patentnummer 2170 ein „Compensator Frame“ Flügel patentiert, der in Anlehnung an die Instrumente von William Allen und James Thom bei William Stodart in London gefertigt wurden. Durch die Londoner Außenstelle kam Pierre mit diesen Instrumenten in Kontakt, die dort zwei Jahre zuvor 1820 patentiert wurden waren. Da das Patent in England dafür bereits ausgestellt war, ließ er ein fast identisches Patent unter seinem Namen in Frankreich ausstellen. Ein Beispiel für die englischen „Compensator Frame“ Instrumente von William Stodart finden Sie hier.

Verschiedene Patente und Weiterentwicklungen von Érard trugen zum großen Erfolg der Firma bei. Beispielsweise die Erfindung der doppelten Repetitionsmechanik 1821 (Patentnummer: 4631), die noch heute in Instrumenten verwendet wird.

Die Firma Érard avancierte schnell zu eine der führenden Klavierbaufirmen. Franz Liszt (1811 – 1886) war der Pianist des Hauses Érard und spiele in seinen Konzerten bevorzugt Érard Instrumente.

Am 5. August 1831 starb Sébastien Érard in La Muette bei Passy, heute im 16. Arrondissement. Die Firma wurde daraufhin von seinem Neffen Pierre mit großem Erfolg weiter geführt.

Nach dem Tod von Pierre am 16. August 1855 wurde die Firma von seiner Frau Camille Février und ihrem Stiefbruder M. Schaeffer in Frankreich weiter geführt. Die Londoner Außenstelle wurde von M. Bruzaud geleitet. Im August 1873 wurde Amédée Blondel Partner von Camille Érard und Direktor der Firma in Paris.

In den 1960er Jahren fusionierte Érard zusammen mit Gaveau, Boisselot und Pleyel und wurde dann von der Braunschweiger Klaviermanufaktur Schimmel aufgekauft. In den 1990er Jahren wurde die Firma von einigen privaten Investoren zurück gekauft und die Produktion von Klavieren wieder fortgeführt bis zur endgültigen Schließung des Betriebes 2013.

 

 

Quellen:

  • Harding R. E. M.: The Pianoforte ― its history traced to the Great Industrial Exhibition of 1851 (Gresham Books 1978)
  • Bloom, P.: Music in Paris in the 1830’s. New-York, Pendragon press 1987
  • Brancour, R.: Histoire des instruments de musique. Paris, Henri Laurens 1921
  • Burnett, R.: Company of pianos. Finchcocks Press, 2004
  • Emmanuel, A.: La harpe, son évolution, ses facteurs. Paris, Dessain et Tolra. 1980
  • Getreau, F.: Les collections instrumentales du Conservatoire de Paris. 1793-1993. Paris, Editions Klincksieck. 1996
  • Melville, D.: Beethoven’s pianos: The Beethoven Companion. London, Faber and Faber. 1971
  • Adelson R., Roudier A., Nex J., Barthel L., Foussard M.: The History of the Erard Piano and Harp in Letters and Documents, 1785–1959, Cambridge 2015

© Eric Feller – Early Keyboard Collection – April 2018